As a writer it irks me to see fans try to force something that is not meant to be. For example, with Supernatural, when fans try to force the writers to put Castiel and Dean together. It’s been 12 years and if it was supposed to happen, it would have already, so obviously it’s not meant to be. DEAL WITH IT! That is why there’s fanfics and websites to post your fanfics on.

It goes with a handful of other “OTP’s” like Clintasha – Clint Barton and Natasha Romanoff of the Marvel Comic Universe. YES Jeremy Renner and Scarlett Johnasson would have been adorable together as Nat and Clint and a lot of us want to know what happened in Budapest, but it is obvious that it wasn’t meant to be. There are more, but I do not feel like spending time hashing them out. These two are the top two I have seen on the internet that I feel are trying to be forced.

I personally wouldn’t like people telling me who should be with my protagonist. This is why I am the writer, not you. If there was a TV series, or movie series, or book series that involved the readers into shaping the characters, then I wouldn’t be annoyed with what fans are doing. Kinda like those old books Chose Your Own Adventures.

I feel that J.K. Rowling was forced into saying that Harry should have been with Hermoine. It is a wonderful thought that Harry and Hermoine would get married, but then again, there are things that would make their relationship pretty awkward.

Another thing that bothers me, is people making sub-context, when really there wasn’t any to begin with. Too many people wanted Dean Winchester to be gay, they believe that there’s something there when there wasn’t. For example, whenever Dean looked at Castiel a certain way, it’s been labeled as him having loving eyes towards him, when in reality, it could mean so many different things – i.e. searching for the truth.

I understand that the LGBTQ community needs to have more characters like them, but I also feel that they’re pushing it too much and forgetting about other types of characters, like Autistic and Handicapped and others who have mental illnesses or diseases that you can and cannot see.

I also feel that people need to understand that just because the characters are white, doesn’t mean that the writer is racist!!! —– Off topic: 1- Don’t forget, that while NSync placed Asians and Black people into their videos, for the longest time, black people still avoided placing white people into theirs, if they’re not the rapper Eminem. So stop assuming that ALL white people are racist. 2 – While you may think that I am being racist for bringing this up, two of my first crushes was and still is, Will Smith and Denzel Washington.

Back to what I was saying —-

Put yourself into the writer’s shoes. Would you want someone to tell you how to write? Would you want someone to tell you that a certain character must get with another character? What if they’re not right for each other? Also remember, this applies in real life as well. What may be great in your mind, could be awful in real life. You might think that you’re going to be the best thing that could happen to that person, when really, you could be the worst thing that could happen to them. It’s the same with the characters that you love to read and the characters that you love to write.

It might sound good to have a person that’s half demon and half angel, or half vampire and half werewolf, but end the end, the Hybrid gets the shitty end of the stick and then will ask why they were even made in the first place. Don’t force something that’s not supposed to happen. Not with your writing or the writing of others you follow.

Cause I know that if Brooke – my beta reader and friend – told me that Avalie should be with, let’s say, Gavin, I wouldn’t be a happy camper. It’s almost like saying that Batman should be with Harley Quinn. It aint happening and it’s really wrong.

If you have reached this point in my ranting and don’t agree with me to some extent, then I suggest you re-evaluate things in your life, because it isn’t fair to others, writers and you are what’s wrong in this world. And yes, I am harsh and blunt and I know this sounds completely stupid to a lot of people, but I see this a lot and it bugs the shit out of me as a writer.

Kudos to those who don’t force things to happen. And if you chose the fanfiction route, thank you so much.

Remember that it is okay to voice your opinion, it isn’t okay to ram it down someone’s throat. OTP’s are just as dangerous as a religious belief!! Sometimes you have to take a step back and say, “Don’t Do It!”

