With You in Your Dreams

Nothing hurts more than when you lose someone you love.

Within the last week, my friend Randi’s grandfather had passed away; my friend Sunny’s grandfather has passed and now the grandfather of my best friend has passed away. I am feeling so much for everyone and am deeply sorry for their losses.

‘Cause I loved you before you knew it was love
And I saw it all, still I chose the cross
And you were the one that I was thinking of
When I rose from the grave
Now rid of the shackles, My victory’s yours
I tore the veil for you to come close
There’s no reason to stand at a distance anymore
You’re not far from home
Keep on coming

~ Steffany Gretzinger: Come Out Of Hiding

Geri and her grandparents took me in a few years ago and sheltered me for a while. My friendship with her helped me through the darkest time of my life and I am forever grateful that they have done all they could to help me become a better person. They didn’t have to, they chose to and that is what a Christian is. They became the grandparents I never had and her grandfather always told me that I was a part of the family. To have met everyone when I did, was the best thing that could happen to me. Grandpa was a beautiful person, full of funny things to say.

When I arrived on Wednesday night to spend some time with Geri, I noticed that there was some Christmas ornaments hanging from the chains to the ceiling fan, walked over to them and stood under it. My head barely fit under it and grandpa laughed and explained that everyone was running into them. It is always wonderful to make someone laugh over the silliest of things. I also find it funny to have last words with him over how expensive TJ Maxx is and how snobbish the workers are.

Grandpa helped me understand the political system more than I ever had in the past and his sassiness was always something to look forward to and will always be with me. His faith in me that I could do whatever I wanted never wavered and he was proud of me for going from a poor lifestyle to a better one after I had gained enough to support myself.

I am thankful to have his wonderful influence in my life. I cannot wait to see him again and hear his stories and give all of us a hard time. Until then, I hope he has fun watching football on a sixty inch TV screen, while sipping his favorite beer and trading stories with others who are waiting at the pearly gates.

I don’t want you to cry and weep, oh
I want you to go on living your life
I’m not sleeping an endless sleep, oh
‘Cause in your heart
You have all of our good times
Oh, all of our good times

~ Hanson: With You In Your Dreams

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

